Canadian Architect


Landscape architects announce 2008 awards call for entries (November 27, 2007)

November 27, 2007
by Canadian Architect

Today, the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) released the call for entries for its 2008 professional and student awards program. The awards honour the best in landscape architecture from around the globe, and will be presented at the ASLA Annual Meeting and EXPO in Philadelphia, October 3-7, 2008.

The professional awards entry deadline is February 1, 2008, and submissions must be received by February 15, 2008. Student entry forms are due May 9, 2008, and submissions must be received by May 23, 2008.

The professional awards jury convening in March 2008 will include:

Warren T. Byrd, FASLA, Nelson Byrd Woltz Landscape Architects, Charlottesville, VA (Jury Chair)
Mary Ellen Cowan, ASLA, MESA, Dallas, TX
Robert A. Ivy, FAIA, editor-in-chief, Architectural Record, New York, NY
Niall Kirkwood, ASLA, Harvard Graduate School of Design, Cambridge, MA
Steve Martino, FASLA, Steve Martino/Cactus City Design, Phoenix, AZ
Elizabeth D. Miller, ASLA, National Capital Planning Commission, Washington, DC
Dennis Pieprz, Affiliate ASLA, Sasaki Associates, Watertown MA
W. Gary Smith, ASLA, W. Gary Smith Design, Austin, TX and Toronto, Canada
Kongjian Yu, International ASLA, Peking University Graduate School of Landscape Architecture, Turenscape, Beijing, China

Bill Marken, Hon. ASLA, editor emeritus of Garden Design magazine, will join the jury for the Residential Design category and William H. Tishler, FASLA, representing the National Trust for Historic Preservation, will join the jury for selection of The Landmark Award.

The student awards jury convening in June 2008 will include:

F. Christopher Dimond, FASLA, Kansas City, MO (Jury Chair)
Cheryl Barton, FASLA, Office of Cheryl Barton, San Francisco, CA
Abhijeet Chavan, ASLA, co-founder and co-editor-in-chief, Planetizen, Los Angeles, CA
Barbara Faga, FASLA, EDAW, Atlanta, GA
Walter Hood, ASLA, Hood Design; University of California Berkeley, Oakland, CA
Jane Kolleeny, senior editor, Architectural Record; managing editor, GreenSource, New York, NY
Kevin Robert Perry, ASLA, Nevue Ngan Associates, Portland, OR
Kristen Richards, editor, ArchNewsNow, Chestnut Hill, NY
Kevin M. Shanley, FASLA, SWA Group, Houston, TX

The ASLA awards program features six categories: General Design; Residential Design (co-sponsored by Garden Design magazine); Analysis & Planning; Research (co-sponsored by the Council of Educators in Landscape Architecture and Landscape Journal); Communications; and the Landmark Award (co-sponsored by the National Trust for Historic Preservation). The student awards program also features a Student Collaboration category and the Student Community Service Awards. Student award recipients will receive a complimentary full registration to the 2008 annual meeting.

Professional Award recipients receive featured coverage in Landscape Architecture magazine and in many other design, construction industry and general-interest media. Residential category professional award recipients will also be featured in Garden Design magazine. Award recipients, their clients, and advisors will be honoured at an awards presentation ceremony and champagne reception during the annual meeting. The award-winning projects will be featured in a video presentation to premier at the ceremony.

The 2008 call for entries is available online at

Canadian Architect

Canadian Architect

Canadian Architect is a magazine for architects and related professionals practicing in Canada. Canada's only monthly design publication, Canadian Architect has been in continuous publication since 1955.
All posts by

Print this page

Related Posts

Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *