Canadian Architect


Contenders for the RIBA’s prestigious 20,000 Stirling Prize announced

August 24, 2006
by Canadian Architect

A new terminal for Madrid airport, a private house, the Welsh Assembly building and a children’s hospital in London are among the six buildings which have made it on to this year’s Royal Institute of British Architects shortlist for the RIBA Stirling Prize in association with The Architects’ Journal.

The 20,000 prize is awarded to the architects of the building that has made the greatest contribution to British architecture in the past year.

The six buildings competing for this year’s title are:

*Brick House, London Caruso St John Architects
*Evelina Children’s Hospital, London Hopkins Architects
*Idea Store, Whitechapel, London Adjaye/Associates
*National Assembly for Wales, Cardiff Richard Rogers Partnership
*New Area Terminal, Barajas Airport, Madrid, Spain Richard Rogers Partnership
*Phaeno Science Centre, Wolfsburg, Germany Zaha Hadid Architects and Mayer Baehrle Freie Architekten BDA, Germany

All shortlisted buildings can be seen at and

Jack Pringle, RIBA President said: “This year’s RIBA Stirling Prize shortlist is a fascinating one. We have an airport terminal building competing with a truly innovative children’s hospital, a national assembly building with a library, the IDEA Store, a concept that is changing the way libraries work. Wide-ranging in their ambition and scale the one thing the six projects have in common is architectural excellence. This is the very best of British architecture. These buildings have created amazing places, popular with the people who use them while also pushing boundaries in our knowledge and understanding of architecture. Well established architects Richard Rogers for the National Assembly for Wales and the Barajas Airport in Madrid, Michael Hopkins with the Evelina Children’s Hospital and Zaha Hadid for her Phaeno Science Centre in Germany feature on this year’s shortlist. But I am particularly pleased to see the younger generation of architects represented by Caruso St. John with their outstanding private home and Adjaye/Associates, with their latest IDEA Store. I look forward to the public debate and of course the jury’s deliberations before we award this year’s RIBA Stirling Prize winner.”

The RIBA Stirling Prize jury, which will visit all six shortlisted buildings and then meet for a final time on the day of the presentation to pick the winner, comprises architecture specialists and lay judges from the arts. The judges are Mariella Frostrup, broadcaster; Martha Schwartz, landscape architect; Stefan Behnisch, architect; Isabel Allen, editor of The Architects’ Journal and Ian Ritchie, architect and panel chair.

The winner of the the RIBA Stirling Prize in association with The Architects’ Journal will be announced at the Roundhouse in north London on Saturday, October 14, 2006.

Previous winners include the Scottish Parliament by EMBT / RMJM Ltd, 30 St. Mary Axe by Foster and Partners, the Laban Centre by Herzog & de Meuron, Gateshead Millennium Bridge by Wilkinson Eyre Architects, and Peckham Library and Media Centre by Alsop Architects.

Canadian Architect

Canadian Architect

Canadian Architect is a magazine for architects and related professionals practicing in Canada. Canada's only monthly design publication, Canadian Architect has been in continuous publication since 1955.
All posts by

Print this page

Related Posts

Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *