Canadian Architect


Barbara Cappochin Biennial Prize 2007

March 24, 2007
by Canadian Architect

This international prize, organized by the Barbara Cappochin Foundation is launched withthe support of the Order of Architects, Planners, Landscapers and Conservationists of theprovince of Padua, the International Union of Architects (UIA) and the Italian Council ofArchitects, Planners, Landscapers and Conservationists (CNAPPC).

This prize offers the opportunity:
to promote quality in contemporary architecture in relation to the territory with the aim of stimulating debate and permitting a comparison between global and local architecture
to strengthen the publics interest and passion for architecture
to recognize in projects the role of all the protagonists

Entry Types
The prize is open to architects worldwide and multidisciplinary teams led by an architect whowish to submit a project completed in the period between July 1st, 2004 and June 30, 2007. The programmes can concern a number of categories:
public or private residential buildings
commercial, administrative and mixed use buildings
public buildings (educational, cultural, religious, sports, leisure and health)
landscape planning projects

The following prizes will be awarded:
an international Grand Prix worth 60,000
a special prize 6,000 for detailed architectural and construction elements
a prize of 6,000 for a project located in the province of Padua

Each prize will be accompanied by a sculpture entitled Architectural Memory by artist PinoCastagna.

The international jury is composed as follows:
Mario Botta, architect (Switzerland)
Gonalo Byrne, architect (Portugal)
Jose Luis Cortes Delgado, architect (Mexico)
Fulvio Irace, President of the architecture section of the Milan triennial (Italy)
Giancarlo Ius, architect, UIA Vice-President (Italy)
Suk Won Kang, architect (Republic of Korea)
Amerigo Restucci, architect (Italy)
Katherine L. Schwennsen, AIA past-President (USA) representing the UIA
Raffaele Sirica, architect, President of the CNAPPC
Steffen Zgel, delegated administrator of Fischer Italia Srl (Germany)
Charles Majoroh, architect (Nigeria), deputy member, representing the UIA

Prize launch, at the Cit de larchitecture in Paris: March 16, 2007
Deadline for reception of documents: July 20, 2007
Jury meeting: September 2007
Announcement of the results: October 5, 2007
Official prize-giving ceremony and exhibition: October 26, 2007

Participants will register online on the Foundation website at and at the same time send all the required documents in digital form, before July 20, 2007. The languages to be used are English or Italian. There is no registration fee.

For more information, please visit and

Canadian Architect

Canadian Architect

Canadian Architect is a magazine for architects and related professionals practicing in Canada. Canada's only monthly design publication, Canadian Architect has been in continuous publication since 1955.
All posts by

Print this page

Related Posts

Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *