Canadian Architect


340 architectural practices compete for the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture ? Mies van der Rohe Award 2009

December 20, 2008
by Canadian Architect

The European Commission and the Mies van der Rohe Foundation announced the list of 340 projects competing for the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award 2009.


Initiated in 1987, the €60,000 prize is the highest award in European architecture and is awarded biennially to works completed within the previous two years. The principal objectives are to recognize and commend excellence in the field of architecture and to draw attention to the important contribution of European professionals in the development of new ideas and technologies. In addition to the Prize, there is an Emerging Architect Special Mention that consists of €20,000, which is granted to young professionals starting out their careers.


The 2009 Jury Members are:

Francis Rambert, Chair (Paris); Lluís Hortet, Secretary and Director of the Mies van der Rohe Foundation (Barcelona); Ole Bouman (Rotterdam); Fulvio Irace (Milan); Carme Pinós (Barcelona); Luis M. Mansilla (Madrid); Vasa J. Perovic (Ljubljana); and Irena Fialová (Prague).


Previous winners include Mansilla +Tuñón, OMA (Rem Koolhaas, Ellen van Loon), Zaha Hadid, Dominique Perrault and Sir Norman Foster.


The prize, one of the most prestigious awards in international architecture, will be presented in May 2009.


The complete list of works presented by each country as well as images of each of the projects can be downloaded from


Canadian Architect

Canadian Architect

Canadian Architect is a magazine for architects and related professionals practicing in Canada. Canada's only monthly design publication, Canadian Architect has been in continuous publication since 1955.
All posts by

Print this page

Related Posts

Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *