Canadian Architect


Canadian Architect 2016 Awards of Excellence Winners Announced

November 30, 2016
by Canadian Architect

At an awards ceremony held at IIDEX this evening, Canadian Architect announced the winners of the 2016 Awards of Excellence, given each year to architects and architectural graduates for buildings in the design stage. 2016 marks the 49th anniversary of the Awards of Excellence, which have recognized significant building projects in Canada since 1968.

This year’s winners have been selected by a jury consisting of Patricia Patkau, founding principal of Patkau Architects in Vancouver; David Sisam, founding principal of Montgomery Sisam Architects in Toronto; and Manon Asselin, founding principal of Atelier TAG in Montreal.

Awards are given for architectural design excellence. Jurors considered the following criteria:

  • Physical organization and form, including attention to composition and detail;
  • Response to program, site, geographic and/or urban context;
  • Innovation in concept, process, materials, building systems and/or implementation;
  • Demonstration of exemplary environmental and/or social awareness. 

By focusing on commissioned yet unbuilt projects along with exceptional student work, the program recognizes design ambitions and supports an overall culture of design excellence. 

Of almost 150 submissions received for this year’s awards program, the jury selected 4 projects for Awards of Excellence and 6 projects for Awards of Merit. In addition, they also selected 2 projects for Student Awards of Excellence.

The winning projects are:

Award of Excellence

Barry Johns Architecture Limited for Infillhaus in Edmonton, Alberta

gh3 (lead design architects) with Morrison Hershfield (prime consultants) for North East Transit Garage in Edmonton, Alberta

KANVA for Elää in Verdun, Quebec


KANVA for Imago in Montreal, Quebec


Award of Merit

Leckie Studio Architecture + Design for The Backcountry Hut
Studio for Transformative Urban Forms and Fields for C House in Winnipeg, Manitoba
5468796 Architecture for Brewery at The Forks in Winnipeg, Manitoba
Heneghan Peng Architects and Kearns Mancini Architects in collaboration for The Canadian Canoe Museum in Peterborough, Ontario
Provencher_Roy and GLCRM Architects for Pavillon d’accueil de l’Assemblée nationale du Québec in Quebec City, Quebec
Batay-Csorba Architects for Misfit[Fit] in Toronto, Ontario


Student Award of Excellence

Lőrinc Vass of The University of British Columbia for Constellations of the In-between


Alec Ring of The University of British Columbia for Polyvalent Adaptations

The award-winning projects are published in the December 2016 issue of Canadian Architect, and can be viewed at this link.

Print this page

Related Posts

No Comments » for Canadian Architect 2016 Awards of Excellence Winners Announced
2 Pings/Trackbacks for "Canadian Architect 2016 Awards of Excellence Winners Announced"
  1. […] and crowdfunded idea competition celebrating urban design. Her firm, 5468796 Architecture, won a 2016 Canadian Architect Award of Merit for its project, Brewery at the […]

Have your say: