Canadian Architect


2009 RAIC Awards of Excellence deadline extended

November 11, 2008
by Canadian Architect

The revised deadline for the 2009 RAIC Awards of Excellence is December 4, 2008 at 4:00 pm. The RAIC issues a call for submissions every two years for its Awards of Excellence, and the categories are as follows:

Allied Arts Medal

This award which was established in 1953 is awarded to a Canadian artist/resident for recognition of outstanding creative achievement in the arts in any medium which are allied to architecture; for example, mural paintings, sculpture, decoration, stained glass, industrial design, etc. Selection of the Allied Arts Medallist is made by a jury appointed by the RAIC Awards Committee.

Innovation in Architecture

This award is to recognize excellence in architectural innovation, including the research and development and the applied use of new technology; unique adaptation of existing technology; new project delivery methods; new design processes; new details; or the development of new methods related to the construction process. Innovations cover a wide range of architectural endeavours including, but not limited to Management, Project Delivery, Energy, or Building Envelope. The award is intended to recognize skill and innovation in technology and project delivery rather than the art of architecture.

Advocate for Architecture

This award is for an individual who has contributed to the elevation of architecture in the public realm by means other than the practice of architecture. The award is to recognize the long-term commitment to and support for the profession of architecture in Canada, at the national, regional or local level.

Architectural Firm

This award is to recognize an architectural firm or practice that has consistently produced distinguished architecture. The award recognizes the achievements of the firm for its quality of architecture, its service to its clients, its innovations in practice, contributions to architectural education and to professional institutions and associations and public recognition.

Green Building

This award is to recognize outstanding achievements of high-performance architecture in Canada for buildings that are environmentally responsible and healthy places to live, work and play. The award recognizes building designs and construction practices that significantly reduce or eliminate the negative impact of buildings on the environment and on occupants, or provide for regeneration, in five broad areas: sustainable site planning; safeguarding water and water efficiency; energy efficiency and renewable energy; conservation of materials and resources; and indoor environmental quality. This award is open to built works – either new construction or renovations – completed after January 1, 2002.


For more information, please visit


Canadian Architect

Canadian Architect

Canadian Architect is a magazine for architects and related professionals practicing in Canada. Canada's only monthly design publication, Canadian Architect has been in continuous publication since 1955.
All posts by

Print this page

Related Posts

Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *