Canadian Architect


2008 National Urban Design Awards call for submissions

November 6, 2007
by Canadian Architect

The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC), Canadian Institute of Planners (CIP), and Canadian Society of Landscape Architects (CSLA) have announced a Call for Submissions for the 2008 National Urban Design Awards.

Urban design and architectural excellence play an important role in maintaining and enhancing the quality of life in Canadian cities.

The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada, in cooperation with Canadian municipalities, wishes to promote public and private awareness of that role. For this reason, an Urban Design Awards program has been established to recognize individuals, organizations, firms and projects that have contributed to the quality of life and sustainability in our Canadian cities.

There are six different categories of urban design projects. One award will be bestowed for each category. They are as follows: Conceptual/Theoretical Urban Design Projects; Approved or Adopted Urban Design Plans; Urban Architecture; Civic Design Projects; Urban Fragments; and Community Improvement Projects.

Additionally, in 2008, there will be two special jury awards selected from the submissions received. Sustainable Development concerns a project from within any of the categories that the jury deems best demonstrates the principles of urban sustainable development while also exemplifying sensitive urban design. The Small or Medium Community Urban Design Award recognizes a project from within any of the categories, situated in an urban centre of less than 500,000 inhabitants, that demonstrates the value of urban design in a mid-size community.

The Student Projects category will be administered through participating Canadian universities, programs in architecture, landscape architecture, and/or urban planning. Each school may forward one submission for each of the following categories: a submission from a structured Urban Design studio; a submission as a result of an individual thesis.

Entry forms and binders must be received before 4:00pm on February 15, 2008. All submissions must be sent to:

The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada
330 55 Murray Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1N 5M3
Attention: The 2008 National Urban Design Awards

An entry fee must accompany each submission that is not from a municipally administered local urban design awards program. The fee is $160.50 (GST included) or $172.50 (HST included) for Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Newfoundland. A cheque payable to The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada must accompany each entry.

For more information, please visit, e-mail [email protected], or call 613.241.3600 x214.

Canadian Architect

Canadian Architect

Canadian Architect is a magazine for architects and related professionals practicing in Canada. Canada's only monthly design publication, Canadian Architect has been in continuous publication since 1955.
All posts by

Print this page

Related Posts

Have your say:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *