Architecture Canada | RAIC welcomes Honorary Fellows during Festival of Architecture

Architecture Canada | RAIC is pleased to welcome three Honorary Fellows, who will participate in this year’s Festival of Architecture organized in partnership with the Newfoundland and Labrador Association of Architects. The Festival takes place June 13-16, 2012 in St. John’s and is themed “Deep Roots in a New Energy City.”

Ted Cullinan, Hon. FRAIC, will anchor the Festival speaking during the annual Fellows Convocation Thursday, June 14, about his world renowned firm Edward Cullinan Architects in London, England, and how its practice as a co-operative offers an unusual flexibility to respond effectively to client demands.

Educated at Cambridge, the Architectural Association and Berkeley, Cullinan trained with Denys Lasdun where he designed the student residences at the University of East Anglia before setting up his own practice in 1959. While teaching at Cambridge in 1965, he established Edward Cullinan Architects as a co-operative.

He has taught extensively in the UK and abroad, being awarded five Professorships: Banister Fletcher Professor at the Bartlett (1978-79), Graham Willis Visiting Professor at Sheffield (1985- 87), George Simpson Visiting Professor at Edinburgh (1987-90), Visiting Professor at MIT (1985), and is currently at the University of Nottingham. He has also received honorary doctorates at the Universities of Lincolnshire and Humberside (1996), East London (2000) and Sheffield (2001). He is known for his tenacious commitment in striving for excellence in design and delights in trying out design ideas through the hands-on experience of construction. With the help of friends and students, he has designed and built six houses, including Gib Tor Farm as a family retreat in north Staffordshire.

Acclaimed local artist Mary Pratt, Hon. FRAIC, will also be honoured. She is one of Canada’s most respected realists, known for her perceptive use of light. The images in her paintings take on realistic dimensions and resemble photographs. Pratt holds honorary degrees from Memorial University and other universities across Canada, and is a Companion of the Order of Canada. She is also the recipient of the 1997 Molson Prize in the Arts awarded annually to two distinguished Canadians by the Canada Council for the Arts. Pratt will participate in Sketching Sessions being held Friday June 15 from 1:30 to 5:00pm and Saturday June 16 from 8:30am to noon.

One of Canada’s most prominent painters and printmakers, Christopher Pratt C.C., Hon. FRAIC, will also be recognized for his very distinguished body of artistic works, grounded in place and regional context. His paintings have been exhibited nationally and internationally and explore many themes: landscapes, architecture, waterscapes, interior spaces and the human figure. He is also a Companion of the Order of Canada, and in 1980 designed the Provincial Flag of Newfoundland and Labrador.

The RAIC 2012 Fellows are: Gaye Kapkin, FRAIC; Dominic A. Lippa, FRAIC; Michel Bourassa, FIRAC; Jean-Pierre LeTourneux, FIRAC; Almas Mathieu,  FIRAC; Jean-Luc Vadeboncoeur, FIRAC; Deborah Levine Farrow, FRAIC; Douglas Hardie, FRAIC; Edward J. Cuhaci, FRAIC; William Crompton, FRAIC; Jason  Moriyama, FRAIC; Douglas Birkenshaw, FRAIC; David Hilaire Clusiau, FRAIC; Karen Cvornyek, FRAIC; R. Craig Goodman, FRAIC; Norman E. Grey-Noble, FRAIC; Roman Mychajlowycz, FRAIC; David Paul Penner, FRAIC; I. Hillel Roebuck, FRAIC; Peter Turner, FRAIC; Barrie J. Ottenbreit, FRAIC; Colin S. Reed, FRAIC; Rory Picklyk, FRAIC; Robert Adamson, FRAIC; Donna Marie Clare, FRAIC; Naomi Minja, FRAIC; Douglas S. Ramsey, FRAIC; Daniel H. Jenkins, FRAIC; Gordon C. Richards, FRAIC; Bo Helliwell, FRAIC; and Raymond J. Cole, FRAIC.

For more information about the 2012 Festival of Architecture, please visit