Architecture Canada | RAIC honours enduring excellence with four Prix du XXe Sicle Awards

Architecture Canada | RAIC is honouring four buildings with a Prix du XXe Siècle Award for their enduring excellence and the mark they leave as nationally significant architecture.

The buildings are:  the Heating and Cooling Plant at the University of Regina (1967) by Clifford Wiens; the Ottawa Train Station (1966) by John B. Parkin & Associates (successor firm is NORR Limited); Robson Square in Vancouver (1973-83) by Arthur Erickson; and the Museum of Anthropology at University of British Columbia (1971-76), also by Arthur Erickson.

“These iconic buildings have stood the test of time and have become national landmarks. They are a testament to how architecture can add quality of life to society. They are proof positive that architecture matters,” said Alex Rankin, FRAIC, Chancellor of the RAIC College of Fellows.

This award was created in 2007 to mark the 100th anniversary of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada, and recognizes the enduring excellence of nationally significant architecture, such as landmark buildings in the historical context of Canadian architecture. The award can go to a building in Canada, designed by an architect from any country, or a building anywhere designed by a Canadian architect.

The jury, chosen by the National Committee of the College of Fellows from distinguished scholars and members of the profession, was comprised of: Martin Bressani, Natalie Bull, Michael McMordie, and Yves Gosselin, AP/FRAIC, (professional advisor).

The Awards of Excellence will be presented during the 2011 AIBC – Architecture Canada | RAIC Festival of Architecture Presidents’ Dinner & Awards Gala on Friday, May 27, 2011.

For more information, please visit