Three Canadians win 2016 Architectural League Prize


Three Canadians have been awarded the 2016 Architectural League Prize, one of North America’s most prestigious awards for young architects and designers.

Hubert Pelletier and Yves de Fontenay of Montreal’s Pelletier de Fontenay, and Neeraj Bhatia of San Francisco’s The Open Workshop, are among six practices invited to present their work in a variety of public fora, including lectures, an exhibition and on the League’s website.

Concordia Lighthouse, Isola del Giglio, IT, Pelletier de Fontenay
Concordia Lighthouse, Isola del Giglio, IT, Pelletier de Fontenay

Every year, The Architectural League and the Young Architects + Designers Committee organize a themed portfolio competition that is juried by architects, artists and critics. Established in 1981, The Architectural League Prize recognizes exemplary and provocative work by young practitioners and provides a public forum for the exchange of their ideas. It is open to designers ten years or less out of school and draws entrants from around North America.

This year’s theme for the portfolio competition was (im)permanence. It explored how time affects architecture’s assertion of style, methods of assembly, and relationship to program, thus altering our expectations of permanent structures in an impermanent environment.

The 2016 Architectural League Prize winners are:

Rania Ghosn and El Hadi Jazairy, DESIGN EARTH, Cambridge, MA and Ann Arbor, MI
Juan Alfonso Garduño Jardón, G3 Arquitectos, Querétaro, Mexico
Neyran Turan and Mete Sonmez, NEMESTUDIO, San Francisco, CA
Neeraj Bhatia, The Open Workshop, San Francisco, CA
Hubert Pelletier and Yves de Fontenay, Pelletier de Fontenay, Montreal, Canada
Yasmin Vobis and Aaron Forrest, Ultramoderne, Providence, RI

The exhibition (im)permanence will be on view at The New School for Design in New York from June 29 to July 30, 2016. For more information, click here.