Architects from 13 Canadian cities named 2020 RAIC Fellows

The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) has announced the 31 individuals named to the RAIC College of Fellows for 2020. There are 13 cities and communities from across Canada represented in the cohort this year.
Photo courtesy of

The College of Fellows of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) bestows Fellowship to RAIC members in recognition of outstanding achievement. Criteria include design excellence, exceptional scholarly contribution, or distinguished service to the profession or the community.

Representing Canada coast-to-coast, the 31 new Fellows come from Saint John, Montreal, Ottawa, Toronto, Brantford, Winnipeg, Calgary, Edmonton, Vancouver, Regina, Saskatoon, Saanichton, BC, and Charlottesville, Virginia.


2020 New Fellows

Monica Adair, Saint John

Anne Cormier, Montreal
Michel Lauzon, Montreal

Ontario North and East & Nunavut
Alex Leung, Ottawa
Heather Semple, Ottawa
David R. Mungall, Ottawa

Ontario Southwest
Ana-Francisca de la Mora, Toronto
Christine Leu, Toronto
Daniel McNeil, Toronto
D’Arcy Arthurs, Toronto
Edward Applebaum, Toronto
Ronald Mar, Toronto
Lynne Wilson Orr, Toronto
Mary Tremain, Toronto
Paul Sapounzi, Brantford
Bernard Jin, Toronto

Gail Little, Winnipeg

Coben Christiansen, Calgary
Cynthia Dovell, Edmonton
Jan Pierzchajlo, Edmonton
Patricia Swanson, Edmonton

James Carter-Huffman, Vancouver
Joyce Drohan, Vancouver
Melissa Higgs, Vancouver
Richard F. Evans, Vancouver
Tracey Mactavish, Vancouver
Brian Wakelin, Vancouver

James Jeffrey Youck, Regina
Maurice Soulodre, Saskatoon

Victoria Chapter
Arthur James Finlayson, Saanichton

Ila Berman, Charlottesville

The RAIC previously announced the Honorary Fellows for 2020 on February 7, 2020. The list of Honorary Fellows for this year include Kevin R. Hydes P. Eng, Lenore Lucey, FAIA, Mariam Kamara, and Mickey Jacob, FAIA.


Due to the current COVID-19 pandemic—which has led to the cancellation of the RAIC 2020 Conference on Architecture, and with it the College of Fellows Convocation—the new Fellows and Honorary Fellows will be honoured at the 2021 convocation. The ceremony will occur during the 2021 RAIC Conference in Montreal from June 6 to 9, 2021.

Did you find this article helpful? Please consider signing up for Canadian Architect’s FREE digital edition and weekly e-newsletter. Your support is a big help to us, as we work to continue reaching readers during this challenging time.