Architects from 12 Canadian cities named 2014 Fellows of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada

Thirty-four architects from across Canada have been named 2014 Fellows by the RAIC | Architecture Canada. The RAIC College of Fellows bestows fellowship in recognition of outstanding achievement. Criteria include design excellence, exceptional scholarly contribution or distinguished service to the profession or the community. 

The practitioners to be honoured include Lubor Trubka, FRAIC, known for designs utilizing wood, and Graeme Duffus, FRAIC, currently overseeing restoration of Halifax City Hall. Also honoured are Siamak Hariri, FRAIC, of Toronto, partner in charge of the Bahá’i Temple of South America, and Sylvie Girard, FIRAC, whose portfolio includes the master plan for Montreal’s Jewish General Hospital.

Fellows will be inducted at the College of Fellows Convocation, which takes place during the Festival of Architecture in Winnipeg from May 28 to 31, 2014. The Festival is hosted by the RAIC in partnership with the Manitoba Association of Architects.

Additionally, two internationally renowned architects will receive Honorary Fellowships. Bjarke Ingels, Hon. FRAIC is the founder of BIG in Denmark and has developed a reputation for designing buildings that are innovative and resource-conscious. He will be the keynote speaker during the College of Fellows Convocation ceremony on May 29, 2014. Antoine Predock, Hon. FRAIC is based in Albuquerque, New Mexico and is responsible for the design of the Canadian Museum for Human Rights, currently under construction in Winnipeg. He will speak during the Festival’s opening reception on May 28, 2014.

The 2014 Fellows are as follows:

Howard S. Coles, FRAIC, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Ronald George Burdock, FRAIC, Halifax, Nova Scotia

Graeme F. Duffus, FRAIC, Halifax, Nova Scotia

Dennis J. R. Ramsay, FRAIC, Halifax, Nova Scotia

Gavin Affleck, FRAIC, Montreal, Quebec

Sylvie Girard, FIRAC, Montreal

Harry Yaghjian, FIRAC, Montreal

Anthony Leaning, FRAIC, Ottawa, Ontario          

Allan Teramura, FRAIC, Ottawa, Ontario          

Phillip H. Beinhaker, FRAIC, Toronto, Ontario          

J. William Birdsell, FRAIC, Guelph, Ontario          

Robert Davies, FRAIC, Toronto, Ontario          

Mariusz T. Gontarz, FRAIC, Toronto, Ontario          

Timothy B. Gorley, FRAIC, Toronto, Ontario          

D. Brian Gregersen, FRAIC, Toronto, Ontario          

Siamak Hariri, FRAIC, Toronto, Ontario          

Clifford Lee Harvey, FRAIC, Toronto, Ontario          

Carol Susan Phillips, FRAIC, Toronto, Ontario          

David Pontarini, FRAIC, Toronto, Ontario          

Kendra Schank Smith, FRAIC, Toronto, Ontario          

Michael J. Cox, FRAIC, Brandon, Manitoba

Jerald D. Peters, FRAIC, Winnipeg, Manitoba

James R. Wagner, FRAIC, Winnipeg, Manitoba

Robert Burnyeat, FRAIC, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Charles Haddon Olfert, FRAIC, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Colin Forsyth Tennent, FRAIC, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Marc Boutin, FRAIC, Calgary, Alberta

Peter James Streith, FRAIC, Edmonton, Alberta

Thomas S. Annandale, FRAIC, Vancouver, British Columbia

Martin Brückner, FRAIC, Vancouver, British Columbia

Peter Cardew, FRAIC, Vancouver, British Columbia

Peter Anthony Levar, FRAIC, Burnaby, British Columbia

Foad Rafii, FRAIC, Vancouver, British Columbia

Lubor Tomas Trubka, FRAIC, Vancouver, British Columbia