AR Awards for Emerging Architecture 2007

The Architectural Review Awards for Emerging Architecture are entering their ninth year of launching a new generation of architects and designers onto the world scene. Inaugurated in 1999, the awards seek out and recognize new talent worldwide. This year they are supported by Buro Happold and InterfaceFLOR.

Awards are given for built of manufactured work only, ensuring that winners have passed the test of moving from theory to practice, drawings to reality.

This year, the distinguished international jury will be Shirley Blumberg of Kuwabara Payne McKenna Blumberg Architects, Toronto; Caroline Bos of UN Studio, Amsterdam; Peter Davey, former editor of the AR; Shuhei Endo of Shuhei Endo Architect Institute, Osaka; and Jo Noero of Noero Wolff Architects, Cape Town. Paul Finch, current editor of the AR, will chair the jury.

Submissions are encouraged in respect of all building types, interiors, urban design, landscape, bridges, temporary structures and manufactured products. Entrants, who must be 45 or under, may enter up to five projects.

This year, the total prize money is 15,000 to be distributed as the jury decides. All winners will be invited to attend the award ceremony to be held in London in late autumn, and selected winners will also be invited to participate in the Spring Lecture Series at the Royal Institute of British Architects in London in March 2008.

Last year, nearly 500 entries from 53 countries were received for the awards. Three winners were chosen, with seven highly commended schemes and 16 honourable mentions.

As in past years, the 2007 winning and commended projects will be published in a special issue of The Architectural Review in December.

The deadline for receipt of entries in Monday, September 10, 2007. Please note that the AR is moving in August, and the delivery address this year will be:

AR Awards
Greater London House
Hampstead Road

An administration fee of 60 (US $120 or 90) is payable for each entry submitted.

Further details about the awards or The Architectural Review can be obtained from Lynne Jackson at or from the AR website at