AR Awards for Emerging Architecture 2006

The Architectural Review Awards for Emerging Architecture are entering their eighth year of launching a new generation of architects and designers onto the world scene. Inaugurated in 1999, the awards seek out and recognize new talent worldwide. They are sponsored by Buro Happold, Interface and Wilkhahn.

The awards are given for built or manufactured work only, ensuring that winners have passed the test of moving from theory to practice, drawings to reality.

This year the distinguished international jury will be Christine Binswanger of Herzog & de Meuron, Basel; Peter Davey, former editor of the AR; Mark Dytham of Klein Dytham, Tokyo; Kim Nielsen of 3XN, Arhus; and Benedetta Tagliabue of EMBT, Barcelona. Paul Finch, editor of the AR, will chair the jury.

Submissions are encouraged in respect of all building types, interiors, urban design, landscape, bridges, temporary structures and manufactured products. Entrants, who must be under 45, may enter up to five projects.

This year, the total prize money has been increased to 15,000 to be distributed as the jury decides. All winners will be invited to attend the award ceremony to be held in London in late autumn, and selected winners will also be invited to participate in the Spring Lecture Series at the Royal Institute of British Architects in London in March 2007.

Last year, nearly 500 entries from 52 countries were received for the awards. Three winners were chosen, with seven highly commended schemes, six commended and eight honourable mentions. This year’s winning and commended projects will be published in a special issue of the Architectural Review in December.

The deadline for receipt of entries is Tuesday, September 12, 2006. An administration fee of 50 (US $100 or 75) is payable for each entry submitted.

Further details about the awards of the Architectural Review can be obtained from Lynne Jackson at or from the AR website at