Announcing the jurors for the 2021 Canadian Architect Awards

Architects from Quebec, Toronto, and Vancouver are the core jurors for our annual awards program.

Carol Phillips, Anne Carrier, Alfred Waugh and James Brittain are our 2021 jurors.

We are pleased to announce the jurors for the 2021 Canadian Architect Awards of Excellence.

Anne Carrier

Anne Carrier, MOAQ, FIRAC, RCA is principal and founder of  Anne Carrier Architecture, based in Lévis, Québec. Her work is distinguished by an integrated vision of design in the development of Quebec’s architectural identity, combining tradition and modernity. This vision is apparent in her public, private, and competition work, realized with an award-winning team that includes four young associates.

Established in 1992, Carrier’s work has been recognized with national and international awards. This includes recognition for the headquarters for Caisse Desjardins de Lévis, two visitors’ centres for Parc du Mont Orford (Bonnallie and Opéongo), the Quebec City Félix-Leclerc library, the Centre de formation professionnelle Gabriel-Rousseau, the Carrefour culturel Jean-Gosselin, and the Complexe culturel de Matane. She recently directed the competition-winning projects for Montreal’s Bibliothèque l’Octogone and the Marieville library and cultural centre, both of which are currently under construction.

Carrier is driven by the conviction that high-quality, environmentally responsible architecture can contribute to the well-being of individuals and of society. She is committed to the advancement of the profession as President of the AAPPQ since 2016, and is a regular juror, conference lecturer, and mentor for young architects. Her firm sponsors an annual Award of Excellence for emerging architects.

Anne has received the Médaille de l’Assemblée nationale du Québec, the Lieutenant Governor’s Medal, and Laval University’s “la Gloire de l’Escolle” Medal.

Carol Phillips

Carol Phillips, OAA, MAIBC, AAA, NSAA, FRAIC, LEED AP is a partner at Toronto-based Moriyama & Teshima Architects, and the design leader for many of the firm’s most innovative and valued projects. Carol is a graduate of the University of Waterloo and regularly lectures, teaches, and serves as critic at various Schools of Architecture, including leading graduate studios at Ryerson University and at the Daniels School of Architecture, Landscape, and Design. Carol sits on the design review panel for projects in the City of Markham and with the Toronto Community Housing Corporation, and is on the advisory committee of Building Equity in Architecture’s Toronto chapter.

Carol’s drive to connect communities to nature through sustainable innovation is matched by her focus to connect people to each other through beautiful, welcoming spaces.  She strongly believes that there is an intersection between our respect for the planet and our respect for each other.  Her designs for such projects as the U of T Multifaith Centre and the Government of Canada Welcome Centre on Parliament Hill exemplify her commitment to excellence in inclusive design, and have been recognized with national and international design awards.  She is committed to finding sustainable solutions in design towards our collective low-carbon future, and is currently leading several of the firm’s mass timber designs. To achieve excellence, she is focused on a collaborative approach to design, beginning with an understanding of community and context.  At various scales, her award-winning designs are grounded in ideas specific to place, executed with strong material presence and craft.

Alfred Waugh. Photo by Carl Kwan

Alfred Waugh, Architect AIBC, OAA, MRAIC, LEED AP is principal and founder of Vancouver-based  Formline. He is the designer of the Indian Residential School History and Dialogue Centre at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver. He has also been selected to design Saskatoon’s Central Library with Chevalier Morales and Architecture49 and the University of Toronto’s Indigenous House with LGA Architectural Partners.

Waugh is part of the Fond Du Lac Denesuline First Nation in Northern Saskatchewan. Waugh has built his reputation on consulting with Indigenous communities to understand their needs and wisdom, and translating this knowledge into an inherently sustainable design that is respectful of its place, use of materials and local culture.

Waugh’s work was featured in the 2018 Venice Biennale exhibition Unceded, and he was named in Maclean’s 2021 Power List of 50 Canadians who are leading the country through a period of transformative change.

James Brittain

For the Photo Awards of Excellence, the three core jurors will be joined by James Brittain.

James Brittain is an award-winning photographer working from studios in Montreal, Canada and London, UK. He studied the history of art and English at the University of Leeds in the UK, before going on to study photography at the London College of Printing.

Brittain has 20 years of commissioned experience in the field of architecture, and his pictures are widely published in books and magazines around the world. He uses his commissioned work to support his own photographic practice exploring ideas around the human experience of the built environment. He’s been the principal photographer on a number of recent books about architecture, including a coffee table monograph about the work of Canada’s MacKay-Lyons Sweetapple Architects (Thames and Hudson), and a new volume on the art and architecture of the UK’s Kensington Palace (Yale University Press). Brittain’s work has been exhibited at the Architectural Association Gallery in London, UK, and at the Contact Photography Festival in Toronto, Canada.


For 54 years, the Canadian Architect Awards of Excellence have recognized design excellence in future projects. This is also the 4th year of our Photo Awards of Excellence, marking the best recent photographs of Canadian buildings. This year’s deadline for submissions to both programs is Thursday, September 16, 2021.

For more information, to enter, and to see past winners, visit