AIBC Awards Medal and Scholarships to UBC Students

The Architectural Institute of British Columbia (AIBC) is pleased to announce that it has awarded its Medal of Achievement in Architecture to Benjamin Alexander, along with three Achievement in Architecture Scholarships to Nicolaas Neisingh, Heather Maxwell and Karen Fedoruk. Bryan Beca was awarded the AIBC Entrance Scholarship. The medal and scholarships were given to the students at a ceremony on Tuesday, May 29, 2007 at the Liu Centre on the University of British Columbias Point Grey campus.

The AIBC is proud to recognize all four students for their excellence in their studies at the UBC School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture, said David Wilkinson MAIBC, president of AIBC Council. We wish them well in their future careers and are sure they will add to the fabric of architectural design.

Established in 2004, the Medal of Achievement, Achievement Awards in Architecture and Entrance Scholarship are given annually to students enrolled in the University of British Columbias School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture for high academic standing and significant progress and development in their studies of architecture. Along with the medal and certificates awarded, recipients also receive a cash award.

These students will become the future architects, designers, and planners of communities in the province and around the world, said Wilkinson. Their studies in architecture will prove to be invaluable in everything they do in life.

The AIBC is a self-governing body dedicated to excellence in the profession of architecture for the benefit of its membership, society and the environment. Through our many community initiatives, professional programs and partnerships with other professional organizations throughout the province and across the country, we strive to be effective and successful ambassadors on behalf of the profession, its practitioners and British Columbia.