AFBC Architectural Awards of Excellence winners announced

The winners of the top architectural awards in British Columbia were announced on November 3 at the Polygon Gallery.

The winners of the AFBC Architectural Awards of Excellence—the highest level of architectural awards in British Columbia—were announced on November 3, 2021, at the Polygon Gallery.

The AFBC Architectural Awards of Excellence Jury reviewed more than 106 submissions in order to select the recipients. The jury measured the overall quality of each submission based on the following criteria: Theory and Design Principles, Program and Client, Context and Site, Budget and Time Constraints, and Sustainability Principles.

“Our aim is to recognize and celebrate design excellence for projects across the province. Our approach was to modernize and expand the Awards to emphasize inclusivity, and broaden the voice of the profession of architecture in BC,” says the organization.

Full House by Leckie Studio Architecture + Design Inc. and Gaile Guevara Studio Ltd.

The Awards suite included: the Lieutenant-Governor of British Columbia Awards in Architecture, Design Excellence Awards, Emerging Firm Award, Innovation Award, Unbuilt Award, Equity Award, Design Distinction Award, AFBC Student Award, and a Special Jury Award.

The Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia Awards in Architecture recognize excellence in completed architectural projects led or designed by AIBC members. Four projects received the Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia Award in Architecture – Medal:

Seven projects were selected to receive a Design Excellence Award:

The Emerging Firm Award  went to Stark Architecture Ltd. Two Innovation Awards went to 1 Lonsdale by John Hemsworth Architecture Inc. Unbuilt Award and Prototype Infill Station by Perkins + Will Canada Architects Co.

Three Equity Awards went to Tsawwassen First Nation Youth Centre by Mackin Architects Ltd., Rick Hansen Foundation Accessibility Certification Cost Comparison Feasibility Study by hcma architecture + design, and  NƏ́C’AʔMAT CT Strathcona Library / YWCA Cause We Care House by DIALOG BC Architecture Engineering Interior Design Planning Inc.

Three Special Jury Awards were also selected. They went to: Gastown Child Care Centre by Acton Ostry Architects, SoLo by Perkins + Will Canada Architects Co. and Shift House by Measured Architecture Inc.

Following the announcement of the award winners, the Burrard Arts Foundation (BAF) in collaboration with the AFBC have announced Emerging From Architecture, an exhibition that highlights notable emerging architecture practitioners as exemplified by past and present winners of the AFBC’s Emerging Firm Award.

The exhibition will showcase the work of the recently announced 2021 award recipient, STARK Architecture, as well as past award winners, including Measured Architecture, D’Arcy Jones Architects, MA + HG Architects, and Leckie Studio Architecture + Design. The exhibition will run from November 18th – December 18th , 2021.