2018 AIBC Recognition Ceremony Celebrates Outstanding Dedication to the Architectural Profession and Community

Eva Matsuzaki Honorary Member of the AIBC Receives Prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award Architects AIBC John J. McCormack and Russell Hollingsworth Honoured for Exceptional Volunteer Contributions

The Architectural Institute of British Columbia (AIBC) is pleased to announce the names of those being honoured at its 2018 Recognition Ceremony. Eva Matsuzaki Honorary Member of the AIBC – a leader in the architectural profession known for pushing boundaries and thoughtful sustainable design – will receive the prestigious AIBC Lifetime Achievement Award for an outstanding career-long body of work.

The C.K. Choi Building containing the Institute of Asian Research at UBC in Vancouver. Architect: Matsuzaki Wright Architects (Photo: courtesy of University of British Columbia)

The ceremony also recognizes AIBC volunteers who have demonstrated significant service and dedication to the Institute, with Architects AIBC John J. McCormack and Russell Hollingsworth receiving awards for their volunteer efforts. In addition, five AIBC Council Members will be honoured for their contributions. The event will take place on November 8 at the VanDusen Botanical Garden.

Professional Service Award

AIBC Lifetime Achievement Award | Eva Matsuzaki Honorary Member of the AIBC

Eva Matsuzaki Honorary Member of the AIBC was born in Riga, Latvia. In 1949, she and her family immigrated to New York City. Her interest in design and the built environment started at age ten, inspired by magazines featuring homes and intricate buildings.

In 1966, Eva graduated from Cornell University with a Bachelor of Architecture – one of only two women in the class of forty. She began her architectural career working at Eero Saarinen’s office in Connecticut, where she contributed to the design of the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Eva also met her future husband – Kiyoshi Matsuzaki – at the firm.

Eva and Kiyoshi moved to Vancouver in 1972 where they would work closely together for the entirety of their architectural careers. Eva worked at many notable firms, including McCarter Nairne from 1972–74, and Arthur Erickson Architects from 1974–84. Eva and Kiyoshi then founded their own firms – Matsuzaki Wright Architects with Jim Wright, and Matsuzaki Architects Inc.

During her more than 40 years of professional practice, Eva was at the helm of many influential projects, including leading the transformation of the old Vancouver Court House into the current Vancouver Art Gallery, to designing the iconic C.K. Choi Building at the University of British Columbia. Her work has been widely recognized for its innovation and use of sustainable design, receiving accolades such as the Architectural Institute of B.C. Lieutenant Governor Innovation Award of Excellence, American Institute of Architects Earth Day Award, Building Owners and Managers Association’s Earth Award, and the B.C. Hydro Power Smart Award of Excellence.

Eva has contributed significantly to both her community and the profession. She was a founding member of Women in Architecture, and the first female president of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada, leading the organization from 1998–99. In addition, she has been a member of AIBC Council, the AIBC Examining Board, Canadian Architectural Certification Board, City of Vancouver Urban Design Panel, and Canada Line Board. She currently sits on the Board of Callanish Society, a support group for people living with cancer.

Volunteer Service Awards

AIBC Award for Lifetime Volunteer Achievement | John J. McCormack Architect AIBC

John graduated with a Diploma in Architecture from the Dublin Institute of Technology in 1967. A year later, he arrived in Vancouver as part of an intended two-year world trip, with the aim of finding work in architecture.

John registered with the Architectural Institute of British Columbia in 1971, and started his own practice in 1974 – John McCormack Architect. Starting with mostly residential projects, the practice grew to include commercial, institutional, educational, and recreational projects for both the private and public sector. In 1987, he received a Special Certificate of Recognition for playing a key role in supporting and enhancing the profession of architecture in B.C.

John has been an exceptionally active member of the Institute – as of 2018, he has volunteered with the AIBC for more than 45 years. He first served on the Advisory Service Committee, where he was tasked with starting the Architects’ Advisory Service – a public outreach program which ran for 25 years.

From there, John continued to contribute to the Institute, demonstrating a remarkable commitment to policy, program, and committee work. Highlights include helping create the Internship in Architecture Program, acting as chair and committee member of the Examining Board and the Professional Conduct Board, being an Oral Examiner and mentor for intern architects, AIBC representative to the Canadian Architectural Certification Board, and member of several other committees: Registration Board, Certification Board, Act and Bylaw Review Task Force, Investigations Committee, and most recently, the Bylaw Review Committee. John has also been a presenter of the Ethics, Act and Bylaws course at the AIBC since its inception, and teaches the ethics portion of the Building Envelope Principles course.

AIBC CEO Award for Exceptional Volunteer Service | Russell Hollingsworth Architect AIBC

Russell credits the development of his design sensibility to growing up in an environment surrounded by the early practitioners of West Coast Modernism, as well as his lifelong interest in the philosophy of how design impacts living. In the late 1960s, Russell worked as a student and draftsman for his father, renowned architect Fred Hollingsworth. While under this tutelage, he developed skills as a carpenter and builder, becoming known at a young age as a “master builder.”

In November 2003, Russell successfully registered with the Architectural Institute of B.C. He began his practice – Hollingsworth Architecture Inc. – in January 2004. His integrated approach which combines architecture, construction and development, enables his team to execute unique and complex projects.

Russell’s organic farm, which he developed and operates, informs his architectural practice through a heightened consideration for the relationship between the built and natural environment.

Since registration, Russell has been actively involved with the AIBC. He contributed to the creation of the architectural competency matrix, which formed the basis of an outcomes-based assessment and was adopted at the national level. He has served as a dedicated member of the Registration Board since June 2004, and the Qualifications Committee since 2006. In addition, Russell has been a panelist for Oral Reviews and reinstatement interviews, sat as a member of AIBC Council, and mentored many alternative qualification candidates. He has also volunteered as a consultant to Rhodes House Trust, Oxford University; Board Member for the Centre for Interactive Research on Sustainability, UBC; and several other planning commissions, design panels and charity boards.

Certificates of Recognition

David Dove Architect AIBC, Sylvie Gagnon Architect AIBC, Karl Gustavson Architect AIBC, Selwyn Dodd Retired Architect AIBC, and Aaron Urion Intern Architect AIBC will be honoured with Certificates of Recognitions for their contribution as AIBC Council Members or Liaisons.