2017 winners celebrated at 50th Canadian Architect Awards

This year, the 50th annual Canadian Architect Awards were hosted alongside Canadian Interiors‘ 20th annual Best of Canada Awards. Recognizing the country’s top designers, the Canadian Architect Awards celebrated seven outstanding projects — and their architects!

This year’s ‘Student Winner’ was Dalhousie University’s Alastair Bird, whose Electric Space conceptualizes a deft repurposing of a decommissioned hydro facility in British Columbia.

Awards of Excellence
Editor Adele Weder and Alistair Bird. Photo by David Lasker.

The first Award of Merit was claimed by MJMA Architects for the Churchill Meadows Community Centre. Located in Mississauga, Ontario, the building will combine a public amenity with a civic destination. The award was received by MJMA’s Chris Burbidge, David Miller, and Raj Sheth.

Awards of Excellence
Adele Weder, Chris Burbidge, David Miller, Sue McFadden, and Raj Sheth (l-r). Photo by David Lasker

Another Award of Merit was presented to the Calgary-based Modern Office of Design (MoDA), whose project GROW offers a creative and socially mindful approach to mid-rise density. Ben Klumper and Doustin Couzens of MoDA were called to the stage to accept the award.

Awards of Excellence
Ben Klumper, Adele Weder, Dustin Couzens. Photo by David Lasker.

Designed by Saucier + Perrotte and Zas Architects, Toronto’s River City 3 also received an Award of Merit. Now under construction, the eye-catching tower already injects a bold twist to the residential point tower typology that dominates so much of the city’s current development. This award was presented to Saucier + Perrotte’s  Andre Perotte, and ZAS’ Paul Stevens.

Awards of Excellence
Andre Perotte, Adele Weder, Paul Stevens. Photo by David Lasker.

The first Award of Excellence was presented to Vancouver’s Leckie Studio for Full House, described by the jury as playful project “riffing on the concept of Marcel Duchamp’s pivoting door to generate a flexible and elegant design that can be reconfigured instantly from one single-family home to two or more.” The award was presented to Leckie Studio’s  Michael Leckie and Dimitri Koubatis.

Awards of Excellence
Michael Leckie, Dimitri Koubatis, Adele Weder. Photo by David Lasker.

ABOVE, by the marc boutin architectural collaborative (MBAC), was our second Award of Excellence winner. Reinventing the Edmonton Valley Zoo, the project creates an immersive new environment at one of the city’s top destinations. Jerry Hacker of MBAC was on hand to claim an award!

Awards of Excellence
Jerry Hacker, Adele Weder. Photo by David Lasker.

Finally, the third Award of Excellence was presented to Lemay for the daring yet contextually sensitive 61 Bells. Reshaping the  underutilized space that fronts Montreal’s iconic St. Joseph’s observatory, the project animates the landmark with a new reception pavilion. The final award was presented to Lemay’s Andrew King and Pierre Leclerc!

Canadian Architect Awards
Andrew King, Pierre Leclerc, Adele Weder. Photo by David Lasker.