2015 OAA Awards call for entries

The Ontario Association of Architects is now accepting entries for the 2015 OAA Awards. The awards highlight the best in architectural design and innovation by Ontario architects, recognizing both emerging talent in the industry as well as some of the province’s most established architectural firms.

This year, the OAA is emphasizing the importance of submitting multi-unit residential and mixed-use projects – including condominium buildings – within the nominations.

“As populations continue to grow and shift back towards urban centres, architects will need to present creative residential structures that promote density and accommodate mixed-uses while engaging within their given context and environment,” says OAA President Bill Birdsell. “It’s important to recognize the architects that are designing exceptional and diverse expressions of our modern lifestyle.”

As well this year, the OAA is emphasizing that anyone, from members of the public, to industry partners, to architecture firms, can nominate a deserving project on behalf of the architect.

Submission categories include:

*Best Emerging Practice
*Design Excellence
*Sustainable Design Excellence
*Lieutenant Governor’s Award
*G. Randy Roberts Service Award
*Honour Roll
*Landmark Designation
*Lifetime Design Achievement
*Order of da Vinci
*People’s Choice

The deadline for submissions is January 26, 2015 at 4:30pm.

Award recipients will be honoured at the Celebration of Excellence Awards Ceremony at the 2015 OAA Annual Conference in Hamilton, taking place between May 6-8, 2015.

Full category details, information on past awards, and eligibility criteria, can be found on the OAA’s website at www.oaa.on.ca.