Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

2015 Canadian Architect Awards of Excellence winners announced

At an awards ceremony held at IIDEX today, Canadian Architect announced the winners of the 2015 Awards of Excellence, given each year to architects and architectural graduates for buildings in the design stage. One of only two national award programs devoted exclusively to architecture, the Awards of Excellence have recognized significant building projects in Canada on an annual basis since 1968.

This year’s winners have been selected by a jury consisting of Maxime-Alexis Frappier, principal and lead designer at ACDF Architecture in Montreal; Pat Hanson, founding partner of gh3 in Toronto; and Johanna Hurme, cofounder of 5468796 Architecture in Winnipeg.

Awards are given for architectural design excellence. Jurors considered response to the program, site, geographical and social context, and evaluated physical organization, structure, materials and environmental features.

Five Awards of Excellence were given to the following firms:

Vancouver House* Bjarke Ingels Group (Design Architect), DIALOG (Architect of Record) and James KM Cheng Architects (Advising Architect) for Vancouver House in Vancouver, British Columbia

Springdale Library

* RDH Architects for Springdale Library and Neighbourhood Park in Brampton, Ontario

Eglinton GO Station* RDH Architects for Eglinton GO Station in Toronto, Ontario

Biodome Renewal* KANVA (concept architect and architect of record) and NEUF architect(e)s (collaborating architect) for Biodome Museum Renewal Project in Montreal, Quebec

Terraced crops climb the slopes of every mountain in northern Rwanda, continental Africa's most densely populated nation.  Nearly every speck of arable land is taken so people push into protected forests -- and each other.  Land scarcity contributed to Rwanda's genocide in 1994.

*MASS Design Group for Munini District Hospital in Nyaruguru District, Rwanda


Six Awards of Merit recognized the following teams:

Ha-Ha House* D’Arcy Jones Architecture for Ha-Ha House in Agassiz, British Columbia

Calgary New Central Library* DIALOG (architect of record/prime consultant) with Snøhetta (design architect) for the New Central Library in Calgary, Alberta

Albion Public LIbrary* Perkins+Will Canada Inc. for Albion District Library in Toronto, Ontario

Double Duplex* Batay-Csorba Architects for Double Duplex in Toronto, Ontario

111* Ja Architecture Studio for 111 in Toronto, Ontario

Pierre Lassonde Pavilion* OMA (design architect) with Provencher_Roy (associate architect) for The Pierre Lassonde Pavilion – Musée National des Beaux-Arts in Quebec City, Quebec


This year, one student was selected as an award winner for her graduating thesis project:

Close Encounters* Clothilde Caillé-Lévesque of McGill University received an Award of Excellence for Close Encounters: A New Post-Industrial Landscape


Exclusive coverage will be granted to award winners in the December 2015 issue of Canadian Architect, and each winning architect and respective client will receive a framed certificate. Student winners will receive a framed certificate in addition to a cash award of $500.

Canadian Architect wishes to thank all firms and students who participated in this year’s awards. It is the enthusiastic involvement of everyone that makes each year a great success.

Click here for more information about the Canadian Architect Awards of Excellence winners from past years, and keep an eye out for in-depth coverage of this year’s winners in our December 2015 issue and on our website.