Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

2014 Spotlight Prize Goes to 5468796 Architecture

The sixth annual Rice Design Alliance Spotlight Prize will be awarded to Canadian firm 5468796, founded by Johanna Hurme and Sasa Radulovic. The international award, which comes with a cash prize and an invitation to lecture at the Museum of Fine Arts in Houston, recognizes architects and designers in the early years of their careers.

“RDA truly believes 5648796 to be one of the most talented young design firms worldwide,” says Lonnie Hoogeboom, RDA Past President and Director of Planning and Design for the Houston Downtown Management District. “5468796 has been on our radar for a few years, and in that time their work and the recognition of their work has skyrocketed—and deservedly so.”

The Winnipeg-based firm, founded in 2007, takes its name from its Canadian business registration number. The wit embodied in that choice is just one of the qualities recognized by Hoogeboom and the Spotlight Prize committee, comprising Rice School of Architecture professors John Casbarian and Carlos Jiménez and University of Houston Gerald D. Hines College of Architecture professor Rafael Longoria: “We are mightily impressed with the calibre of architecture produced in just seven years,” says Hoogeboom. “[We] admire the breadth of design investigation, the elegance with which each element is rendered manually, digitally or physically, and the broadening range of project types, from early-year single-family residences to complex multifamily assemblies to ‘jewel boxes’ in the urban landscape. Hurme and Radulovic are clearly building their young firm into an architectural practice of prominence and distinction.”

“We are incredibly hounoured by this prestigious recognition,” writes Hurme. “It is absolutely amazing to be receiving an award that has previously been given to such practitioners as Sou Fujimoto and Antón García-Abril. This recognition inspires and encourages us to try to live up to its promise and the expectations of the jury that selected us. Awards like [this] are invaluable in highlighting our work and, hopefully, as a result, providing us interesting and challenging opportunities in the future. We are humbled and grateful and very much look forward to visiting Houston in September.”

5648796 will formally accept the prize and give a lecture on Tuesday, September 9, 2014, at 7 p.m. at The MFA,H. Spotlight Prize winners in previous years include Interboro Partners, Pezo von Ellrichshausen, LA DALLMAN, Sou Fujimoto, and Antón García-Abril.

For more information, please visit