2014 Canadian Architect Awards of Excellence winners announced

Canadian Architect announces the winners of the 2014 Awards of Excellence, given each year to architects and architectural graduates for buildings in the design stage. One of only two national award programs devoted exclusively to architecture, the Awards of Excellence have recognized significant building projects in Canada on an annual basis since 1968.

This year’s winners have been selected by a jury consisting of Éric Gauthier of Les Architectes FABG in Montreal, Michael Green of Michael Green Architecture in Vancouver, and Tyler Sharp of RDH Architects in Toronto.

Awards are given for architectural design excellence. Jurors considered response to the program, site, geographical and social context, and evaluated physical organization, structure, materials and environmental features.

Six Awards of Excellence were given to the following firms:

* MacLennan Jaunkalns Miller Architects + Acton Ostry Architects—Architects in Association for the University of British Columbia Aquatic Centre in Vancouver, British Columbia

* gh3 for the Borden Park Natural Swimming Experience in Edmonton, Alberta

* 5468796 Architecture Inc. for the Arthur Residence in Regina, Saskatchewan

* Williamson Chong Architects for the House on Fox Lake in Huntsville, Ontario

* Atelier TAG + Jodoin Lamarre Pratte architectes in consortium for the Saint-Jérôme Performance Hall in Saint-Jérôme, Quebec

* Chevalier Morales Architectes for the Maison de la Littérature de l’Institut Canadien de Québec in Montreal, Quebec

Three Awards of Merit recognized the following teams:

* The Marc Boutin Architectural Collaborative Inc. with the Portico Group for the Edmonton Valley Zoo Children’s Precinct in Edmonton, Alberta

* Chevalier Morales architectes + DMA architectes in consortium for the Pierrefonds Public Library in Montreal, Quebec

* MacLennan Jaunkalns Miller Architects (Design Architect) and Fowler Bauld & Mitchell (Architect and Prime Consultant) for the Dalhousie University Fitness Centre in Halifax, Nova Scotia

This year, two students were selected as award winners for their respective graduating thesis projects.

* Evelyne St-Jacques of the Université de Montréal received an Award of Excellence for Mont Saint-Hilaire Quarry

* Matthew Griffin-Allwood of Dalhousie University received an Award of Excellence for Sable Island National Park

Exclusive coverage will be granted to award winners in the December 2014 issue of Canadian Architect, and each winning architect and respective client will receive a framed certificate. Student winners will receive a framed certificate in addition to a cash award of $500.

Canadian Architect wishes to thank all firms and students who participated in this year’s awards. It is the enthusiastic involvement of everyone that makes each year a great success.

Click here for more information about the Canadian Architect Awards of Excellence, the jury, and to view the winning projects.