2011 OAA Awards announced

Through their annual awards program, the Ontario Association of Architects (OAA) recently celebrated an incredibly diverse selection of buildings, constructed nation-wide and internationally. The winning projects provided inspiring examples of Ontario architects exporting their vision and talent. Sustainability was a key theme this year and acted as an integral part of the judging criteria.

Winners of the Design Excellence categories were announced prior to the award show; however, there were three awards announced at the Celebration of Excellence. Best of Show went to Cornell Plantations Welcome Center by Baird Sampson Neuert Architects for best fulfilling the judging criteria in the Design Excellence category. The Michael V. and Wanda Plachta Award was presented to Humber College Centre for Justice Leadership by Gow Hastings Architects Inc. for smaller projects built in Ontario, exhibiting design excellence, and created by a relatively young or small firm. The People’s Choice by public vote went to Front to Back Infill by Colizza Bruni Architecture Inc. Also, two OAA Honorary Members were announced this year: Rollo Myers and Byron Treves.

Design Excellence winners are as follows:

Bloor / Gladstone Branch Library in Toronto by Rounthwaite Dick & Hadley Architects Inc. in association with Shoalts & Zaback Architects Ltd. & E.R.A. Architects Inc.

Canadian Museum of Nature in Ottawa by Padolsky, Kuwabara, Gagnon Joint Venture Architects (PKG): Barry Padolsky Associates Inc. Architects, Kuwabara Payne McKenna Blumberg Architects, Gagnon, Letellier, Cyr, Ricard, Mathieu Architectes

Cornell Plantations Welcome Center in Ithaca, New York, by Baird Sampson Neuert Architects

Department of Psychosocial Oncology & Palliative Care/Al Hertz Centre for Supportive and Palliative Care/Harold and Shirley Lederman Palliative Care Centre in Toronto by ARK Architects + Research + Knowledge Inc.

Front to Back Infill in Ottawa by Colizza Bruni Architecture Inc.

Hamilton Farmers’ Market and Central Public Library in Hamilton by Rounthwaite Dick & Hadley Architects Inc. in association with david premi Architects inc.

Humber College Centre for Justice Leadership in Toronto by Gow Hastings Architects Inc.

Lakehead University, New Academic Building in Orillia by Moriyama & Teshima Architects

LightSpace 2 in Toronto by Baird Sampson Neuert Architects Inc.

The Salvation Army Harbour Light in Toronto by Diamond + Schmitt Architects

Scandinave Les Bains Vieux-Montréal in Montreal by Saucier + Perrotte architectes

Telus House Toronto at 25 York Street in Toronto by Adamson Associates Architects collaborating with Sweeny Sterling Finlayson &Co Architects Inc.

University of Waterloo School of Pharmacy/McMaster University MGD School of Medicine in Kitchener by Hariri Pontarini Architects Robbie/Young + Wright Architects in Joint Venture

Vancouver 2010 Winter Olympics Ontario Pavilion (Ontario House) in Vancouver by Hariri Pontarini Architects

Waterloo Region Museum in Kitchener by Moriyama & Teshima Architects in association with the Walter Fedy Partnership

In the Image subcategory of the Concepts & Presentations category, Reza Aliabadi [rzlbd] won the award for Transimage, while intern architect Michelle Van Eyk was recognized with an Honourable Mention for Studio 124-125, 48 Abell Street (After Eviction). In the Artifact subcategory, intern architect Chan Yiu-Bun won the award for Echo, while an Honourable Mention was given to Dubbeldam Design Architects for pull.push.slide.pivot.lift.tilt.turn. In the Proposals/Concepts subcategory, student Liana Bresler won the award for Embedded Boundaries, while Brook McIlroy won an Honourable Mention for IOD Thunder Bay.

A new Lifetime Design Achievement Award was given to esteemed Toronto architect Eberhard H. Zeidler, and David R. Murphy won the G. Randy Roberts Service Award. The Order of da Vinci was given to Ranjit Dhar.

For more information about the OAA Awards and Conference, please visit: www.oaaconferenceregistration.com.