2011 Heritage Toronto Awards recipients announced

Heritage Toronto has announced the recipients of the 37th Annual Heritage Toronto Awards. The Awards celebrate outstanding contributions by individuals and community organizations, as well as industry professionals and associations, in promoting and conserving Toronto’s history and heritage landmarks. Award recipients were announced at a ceremony on October 4, 2011 at Koerner Hall, the Royal Conservatory of Music.

This year, nominations were solicited from the public in four categories: the William Greer Architectural Conservation and Craftsmanship Award; Book; Media; and Community Heritage. Independent juries reviewed the nominations and recommended the award recipients. Heritage Toronto also presented its Special Achievement Award to the late heritage developer and champion Paul Oberman.

The winners are as follows.


This category honours owners who have undertaken projects to restore or adapt buildings or structures that have been in existence for 40 years or more. In addition to the quality of craftsmanship, appropriateness of materials, and the use of sound conservation principles, the

jury considers how well the project meets current needs while maintaining the integrity of the

original design vision.

Award of Excellence

John Street Roundhouse, 255 Bremner Boulevard

Commissioned by: City of Toronto

Architect: IBI Group

Crafts Persons/Contractors: John Street Roundhouse Development Corp. and others

Seventh Post Office, 10 Toronto Street

Commissioned by: Karmic Holdings Inc.

Architects: Goldsmith, Borgal & Company; Roth Knibbs Architects

Crafts Persons/Contractors: Carillion Canada; Clifford Restoration

Award of Merit

Shops of Summerhill, 1095 – 1103 Yonge Street

Commissioned by: Woodcliffe Landmark Properties

Architects: Goldsmith, Borgal & Company

Design Architects: AUDAXarchitecture

Craft Person/Contractor: Den Bosch + Finchley

Honourable Mention

Pease Foundry Building, 211 Laird Drive

Commissioned by: Fieldgate Developments

Architects: PDA Architects; Goldsmith, Borgal & Company

Crafts Person/Contractor: Fieldgate Construction Management

Robert Watson Lofts, 363/369 Sorauren Avenue

Commissioned by: Sorauren Lofts Corp.

Architect: Kohn Partnership Architects

Crafts Persons/Contractors: 59 Developments Inc.



This category recognizes well-written non-fiction books published in 2010 that explore Toronto’s archaeological, built, cultural and/or natural heritage and history.

Award of Merit

Imagining Toronto

Author: Amy Lavender Harris

Publisher: Mansfield Press

Defiant Spirits: The Modernist Revolution of the Group of Seven

Author: Ross King

Publisher: Douglas & McIntyre Publishers Inc. and the McMichael Canadian Art Collection,


Stroll: Psychogeographic Walking Tours of Toronto

Author: Shawn Micallef

Publisher: Coach House Books and Eye Weekly

Honourable Mention

A Guidebook to Contemporary Architecture in Toronto

Author: Margaret Goodfellow & Phil Goodfellow

Publisher: Douglas & McIntyre Publishers

The Well-Tempered Listener: Growing Up with Musical Parents

Author: Mary Willan Mason

Publisher: Words Indeed Publishing

Creating Memory: A Guide to Outdoor Public Sculpture in Toronto

Author: John Warkentin

Publisher: Becker and Associates and the City Institute at York University


This category salutes projects such as films, videos, websites, and newspaper and magazine articles that educate the public about aspects of Toronto’s archaeological, built, cultural and natural heritage and history.

Award of Excellence

Video – Brick by Brick: The Story of the Evergreen Brick Works

Author/Director: Catherine Annuau

Producer/Distributor: Jennifer Holness, Hungry Eyes Film & Television

Website – Jane-Finch.com

Author/Director: Paul Nguyen

Producer: Sue Chun


This award is open to one volunteer community-based organization in each of the four Community Council areas as defined by Toronto City Council. The organization must be currently active, and have either initiated or completed a significant activity that promotes, protects or preserves cultural or natural heritage in its specific Community Council area. This is a cash award and no organization is eligible to receive it more than once every five years. The recipients are: the Psychiatric Survivor Archives of Toronto; the Wellington Place Neighbourhood Association; and the York Pioneer and Historical Society.


This award was presented to the Toronto Railway Historical Association.

For a complete list of recipients, descriptions and photos, please visit www.heritagetoronto.org.