2010 National Urban Design Awards unveiled

Architecture Canada | RAIC, the Canadian Institute of Planners, and the Canadian Society of Landscape Architects are pleased to announce the winners of the 2010 National Urban Design Awards in the following categories:


* Urban Architecture: Manitoba Hydro Place (MB), Kuwabara Payne McKenna Blumberg Architects, Smith Carter Architects & Engineers, Transsolar Klima Engineering


* Civic Design Projects: Waterloo Public Square (ON), GSP Group Inc.


* Urban Fragments: Capital Health Centre (AB), Dub Architects Ltd.


* Community Improvement Project: Ottawa Children’s Garden (ON), Sustainable Living Ottawa East and the Community of Old Ottawa East


* Special Jury Award – Sustainable Development: Tower Renewal Opportunities Book (ON), Graeme Stewart, E.R.A Architects Inc.


* Special Jury Award – Small or Medium Community Urban Design: HRMbyDesign (NS) – The Downtown Halifax Plan, Heritage and Design Department, Halifax Regional Municipality


* Urban Design Plans: Transformation of the Bonaventure Expressway at the Montreal Downtown Gateway (QC), Groupe Cardinal Hardy collaboration, Urban Soland – Paysages urbains Société du Havre de Montréal


* Student: City_Program Hybrid Area (QC), Virginie Pontbriand, Anik Malderis and Alexandre Guilbeault, Université de Montréal


The following are recognized with Certificates of Merit:


* Urban Design Plans: The RiverWalk Master Plan (AB), Stantec Consulting Ltd.


* Urban Architecture: Royal Conservatory, TELUS Centre for Performance and Learning (ON), Kuwabara Payne McKenna Blumberg Architects; and Life Sciences Complex, McGill University (QC), Diamond and Schmitt Architects, Provencher Roy + Associés Architectes, Architects in Joint Venture


*Civic Design Projects: Spadina WaveDeck (ON), WEST 8 + DTAH Joint Venture and Waterfront Toronto


According to RAIC President Randy Dhar, FRAIC, CSLA, MCIP, “The National Urban Design Awards recognize that urban design /architecture impact every facet of society and enrich quality of life. This year’s awards honour those who have risen to the challenge and contributed to the cultural fabric of cities. We are proud to celebrate such a high calibre of award recipients and the range of communities recognizing excellence in urban design.”


The RAIC, CIP and CSLA in cooperation with Canadian municipalities, promote public and private awareness of urban design through this Awards program established to recognize individuals, organizations, firms and projects that have contributed to the quality of life in our Canadian cities and their sustainability.


The National Urban Design Awards are part of a two-tier program held in co-operation with major metropolitan centres in Canada. Recipients are previous year’s winners from participating municipalities, such as Toronto, Mississauga, Calgary, Edmonton, Vaughan and Ottawa as well as submissions from other communities in Canada.


The National Urban Design Awards will be presented at an award ceremony during the CoTo Conference to be held at the Design Exchange October 12, 2010 by the presidents of Architecture Canada, CIP and CSLA.


Descriptions and downloadable images of the winning projects and firms responsible are available at www.raic.org.