2009 OAA award winners announced

The Ontario Association of Architects recently announced the winners of their annual awards program. Several projects were recognized as achieving design excellence, and they are: 
401 Wellington Street in Toronto by Stantec Architecture Ltd., Architects; 40R_Laneway House in Toronto by Superkül Inc., Architect; Artscape Wychwood Barns in Toronto by Joe Lobko Architect Inc. and du Toit Architects Limited; Belleville Public Library and John M. Parrott Art Galleries in Belleville by Zeidler Partnership Architects; Bishop Street Residence in Toronto by Taylor Smyth Architects; Cascade House in Toronto by Paul Raff Studio Incorporated Architect; Ireland Park in Toronto by Kearns Mancini Architects Inc.; Island Yacht Club in Toronto by Montgomery Sisam Architects Inc.; Molly’s Cabin in Pointe Au Baril by AGATHOM Co.; Peterborough Regional Health Centre in Peterborough by Stantec Architecture Ltd., Architects; The City of Toronto Enderby Road Child Care Centre in Toronto by CS&P Architects Inc.; The George Brown College Centre for Hospitality and Culinary Arts in Toronto by Kearns Mancini Architects Inc. with Gow Hastings Architects Inc.; The Renfrew County Courthouse in Pembroke by NORR Limited Architects and Engineers; Torys LLP Offices in Toronto by Kuwabara Payne McKenna Blumberg Architects.


The Landmark Award was given to Toronto’s St. Lawrence Neighbourhood 1977-82 in Toronto, designed by: Alan Littlewood (currently practicing as Alan Littlewood Architect); Bernard Gillespie Architect; Boris A. Lebedinsky; Irving Grossman, Architect; Janis Kravis Architect; Jerome Markson (currently practicing as Jerome Markson Architect Inc.); Joel Shack Architect; J.E. Sievenpiper (currently practicing as Sievenpiper Associates Inc.); Klein & Sears Architects; Matsui Baer Vanstone Freeman Architects; Page & Steele Architects (currently practicing as IBI Group Architects); Paul Reuber Architect (currently practicing as Paul Reuber Incorporated Architect; Robinson & Heinrichs Architects (currently practicing as Victor J. Heinrichs Inc. Architect); Sillaste & Nakashima Architects; The Thom Partnership Architects; V.W. Kuchar & Associates, Architects; and Zeidler Partnership Architects.

In the Concepts & Presentations category, the Image Award of Excellence was given to student Lisa Hirmer for Desert, and student Johnathan Wong received an Honourable Mention for Drive-in, Niagara Falls, 2008. The Artifact Award of Excellence was given to Drew Mandel Design for Parti [Mailbox-Light-House Number].

In the Concepts/Proposals category, an Award of Excellence was given to intern Kate Bowman for Centre Block- A New Urban Landscape for Downtown Kitchener, while two Honourable Mentions were bestowed upon intern Reza Aliabadi for Cart Shelter and to student Mariangela Piccione for Core House – A Proposition for New Orleans.

Raw Design Inc. were recognized as the Best Emerging Practice, while John Bobaljik received the G. Randy Roberts Service Award. Norman D. Macdonald received the distinction of Honour Roll, and Jerome Markson was named to the Order of da Vinci.

For more information, please visit www.oaa.on.ca/client/oaa/OAAHome.nsf/ArchNewsBydate/66D5F9C1CF52D6898525757E0045114E!opendocument