2009 Canadian Architect Awards of Excellence winners announced

Canadian Architect announces the winners of the 2009 Awards of Excellence, given each year to architects and architectural graduates for buildings in the design stage. One of only two national award programs devoted exclusively to architecture, the Awards of Excellence have recognized significant building projects in Canada on an annual basis since 1968.


This year’s winners have been selected by a jury consisting of Gregory Henriquez of Henriquez Partners Architects in Vancouver, Jean-Pierre LeTourneux of Menkès Shooner Dagenais LeTourneux Architectes in Montreal, and Paul Raff of Paul Raff Studio and RVTR in Toronto.


Awards are given for architectural design excellence. Jurors considered response to the program, site, geographical and social context, and evaluated physical organization, structure, materials and environmental features.


Four Awards of Excellence were given to the following firms:


architectsAlliance and Maclennan Jaunkalns Miller Architects in joint venture for Block 31 in Toronto, Ontario


atelier TAG + Jodoin Lamarre Pratte, Architects in Consortium for the Bibliothèque Raymond-Lévesque in Longueuil, Quebec


RDH Architects Inc. for the Newmarket Operations Centre in Newmarket, Ontario


The Arcop Group for the Jaypee Corporate Offices in Noida, India


Six Awards of Merit recognized the following teams:


5468796 Architecture Inc. for youCUBE in Winnipeg, Manitoba


Consortium Cardin Ramirez Julien + AEdifica Architecture + Design in joint venture for the New Montreal Rio Tinto Alcan Planetarium in Montreal, Quebec


D’Arcy Jones Design Inc. for The Cowboy, sited somewhere in the wilds of North America


Saucier + Perrotte architectes for the John Abbott College Science and Health Technologies Building in Ste-Anne-de-Bellevue, Quebec


Teeple Architects Inc. for the Sherbourne Park Pavilion in Toronto, Ontario


The Marc Boutin Architectural Collaborative for Memorial Drive: A Landscape of Memory in Calgary, Alberta


This year, three students were selected as award winners for their respective graduating thesis projects. They are:


Eric Baczuk of Dalhousie University for Design and Power: Defining Program and Typology for TISEC Developments in the Bay of Fundy


Marianne Gaudreault-Charbonneau of Université Laval for Stenosis: Dwelling the Narrow


Bindya Lad of the University of Toronto for Immigrants do not Simply Settle


Exclusive coverage will be granted to award winners in the December 2009 issue of Canadian Architect, and each winning architect and respective client will receive a framed certificate. Student winners will receive a framed certificate in addition to a cash award of $500.


Canadian Architect wishes to thank all firms and students who participated in this year’s awards. It is the enthusiastic involvement of everyone that makes each year a great success.