2008 Canadian Architect Awards of Excellence jury announced

Canadian Architect is pleased to announce the jury for the 2008 Canadian Architect Awards of Excellence. This year, Toronto’s Siamak Hariri of Hariri Pontarini Architects will be joined by Bing Thom of Vancouver’s Bing Thom Architects and Christine Macy, Dean of Dalhousie University’s Faculty of Architecture and Planning.

The deadline for submissions draws ever closer; they must be received by Tuesday, September 16, 2008. The awards programs is open to all architects registered in Canada and architectural graduates.

Projects must be in the design stage, scheduled for construction or under construction but not substantially complete by September 16, 2008. All projects must be commissioned by a client with the intention to build the submitted proposal. All building types and concisely presented urban design schemes are eligible.

Awards are given for architectural design excellence. Jurors will consider the scheme’s response to the client’s program, site, and geographic and social context. They will evaluate its physical organization, form, structure, materials and environmental features.

For more information and to download the entry form, please visit www.canadianarchitect.com/awards/pdfs/EntryForm.pdf.

The entry form is also available in the August 2008 print edition of Canadian Architect.