2007 Edmonton Urban Design Awards

Urban Design and architectural excellence play an important role in enhancing the quality of life in Canadian cities. The City of Edmonton and the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) Alberta Chapter wish to promote a greater awareness of that role. For this reason, an Urban Design Awards program has been established to recognize individuals, organizations, firms and projects that have contributed to enhancing the quality of life in Edmonton.

You are invited to participate in this celebration of excellence. Designers, developers, sponsors, and owners of projects selected as award winners will receive an Award of Excellence or a certificate of Merit in six categories. Awards will be presented at a ceremony to be held at Edmonton City Hall in November 2007. Awards will be presented to both consultant and owners.

The projects receiving an Award will be eligible for the National RAIC Urban Design Awards to be adjudicated in 2008. The awarded projects will be exhibited in Edmonton City Hall and featured on the City of Edmonton and RAIC websites.

An Award of Excellence or a certificate of Merit will be given at the sole discretion of the jury. Decisions formed by the jury are final and may not be appealed. There is no limit to the number of awards that may be given. There is no guarantee that any Award of Excellence will be given. The jury, in conjunction with the Urban Design Award Committee, reserves the right to combine categories of work where the volume of submissions warrants. The jury reserves the right not to award a certificate in any category.

The jury members are: Vincent Asselin, landscape architect, Asselin, Ackaoui et Associs inc., Montreal; Gary Burns, writer/filmmaker, director of Radiant City and Waydowntown, Calgary; Joe Berridge, planner, Urban Strategies, Toronto; Ian MacDonald, architect, Ian MacDonald Architect Inc., Toronto; and Janet Rosenberg, landscape architect, Janet Rosenberg + Associates, Toronto.

Urban Design projects will be recognized in the six categories. Each category has different requirements for eligibility and different criteria for selection of an award. Details for each category are outlined on the following pages:

1. Un-Implemented Urban Design Plans
This category is for a plan or a study of a significant area within the municipality that provides a development or redevelopment strategy for urban transformation in the mid-term to long-term that has no official status or is approved by the Authority Having Jurisdiction but is not implemented. Urban Design studies/ guidelines, urban design charrette proposals, site-specific zoning bylaws (DC1, DC2) , urban design guidelines, master plans, redevelopment strategies, and community plans (ARP, NSP) of high inspirational value with the potential for significant impact on the citys development may be submitted. The plan or study must have been completed after January 1, 2001. However, it should not yet have been implemented.

2. Implemented Urban Design Plans
This category is for an Urban Design Plan, or a Study that has already been approved and physical changes have already started to occur. The plan, project, or study must have been approved after January 1, 2001, and thereshould be concrete examples of changes.

3. Urban Architecture
This category is for a building or group of buildings that contribute to, and support an urban design initiative. It will be an individual building or group of buildings of high architectural standard, which achieves urban design excellence through its unique relationship with its immediate surroundings because of its site, massing, and pedestrian amenities. The building will also contribute to defining a special relationship with the neighbouring urban fabric. A new building, a renovated building, or complex of buildings completed or installed after January 1, 2001 within the City of Edmonton, and designed by an architect.

4. Civic Design Projects
This category is for civic improvement projects such as a park, a public space, civil engineering infrastructure, etc., which have been implemented as the result of an urban design plan or initiative. A construction projectcompleted or installed after January 1, 2001 within the City of Edmonton, and designed by an architect, landscape architect, and/or an engineer.

5. Urban Fragments
This will involve a single, small-scale piece of a building or landscape that contribute significantly to the quality of the public realm. This category includes small and modest elements such as street furniture, lighting elements, interpretation media, memorials, public art, or other forms that contribute to the beautification, enjoyment, and/or appreciation of the urban environment. Projects can be of a temporary (but not ephemeral) or permanent nature. The improvement must have been completed after January 1, 2001.

6. Community Improvement Projects
This category is for any built project, however modest, initiated and implemented by a community-based organization that enhances the public realm. Streetscape, public art, special installations, environmental initiatives, a banner program are examples. The improvement must have been completed after January 1, 2001.

Entry forms, fee, boards, and binders must be completed, and received before 4:00 pm, Thursday, October 4, 2007. An entry of $100.00 (includes GST) must accompany each submission. Please make cheque or money order payable to the Edmonton Urban Design Award Committee. For more information, please visit www.edmonton.ca/urban2007.