2006 Wood Design Awards deadline approaches

The deadline for submissions to the 2006 Wood Design Awards is Friday, October 6, 2006. This program is the only combined program for US and Canadian architects honouring design excellence in all types of buildings and interiors in which wood has significant use.

Entries should consist of building projects that show a wide range of wood product applications. Note that projects need not be entirely of wood.

The jury will consider creative, distinctive and appropriate uses of wood materials in satisfying clients’ building and site requirements.

The Wood Design Awards will be publicized through media relations, advertising, presentations at Wood Solutions Fairs, on the website www.wooddesignandbuilding.com and in a special awards issue of Wood Design & Building (US and Canada) magazine, and in The Wood Design Awards Book 2006.

The categories are as follows:

*Non-Residential New
*Non-Residential Remodelled
*Residential New
*Residential Remodelled
*Architectural Interior Design

The Non-Residential category includes offices, shopping centres, restaurants, stores, churches, motels, hotels, schools, libraries, recreational buildings, fire halls, medical clinics, hospitals, storage facilities, research laboratories, factories and warehouses.

The Residential category includes single-family detached dwelling and multi-family projects such as duplexes, garden homes, apartments, condominiums, dormitories, low-cost housing and seniors’ residences.

Entries for remodelled buildings may involve modifications to the building exterior, interior, or both. Kitchen and bathroom modifications alone are not eligible, nor are single-room improvements that do not include structural changes.

Landscaping projects and other outdoor works are also eligible; however, the use of wood should have architectural merit.

The Architectural Interior Design category includes significant use of wood finishing in any type of building interior.

Submitted projects will also be considered for the Real Cedar Award sponsored by the Western Red Cedar Lumber Association and for the Hardwood Award, sponsored by the Hardwood Council.

This year, the jury is comprised of Brian MacKay-Lyons of Halifax’s MacKay-Lyons Sweetapple Architects, Craig Curtis of Seattle’s Miller|Hull Partnership, and Mark McInturff of Maryland’s McInturff Architects.

The fee for the first entry is $145 and subsequent entries are $110.

For more information, please visit www.wooddesignandbuilding.com. Please direct questions to Jennifer Duthie at jduthie@cwc.ca or at 1.800.463.5091 x224.