2006-2007 Student Competition entitled Preservation as Provocation: Re-designing Saarinen’s Cranbrook Academy of Art

In 1942, Eliel Saarinen, the renowned Finnish-American Modern Architect, designed the Library and Museum of the Cranbrook Academy of Art to be the centrepiece of the Michigan campus, which is now a National Historic Landmark. Considered to be one of the most technologically advanced and aesthetically daring Modernist building complexes at the time of its completion, its expanding collections and growing numbers of visitors now require a major transformation of the original.

This competition, the first to address the emerging field of preservation design, invites architecture students to imagine this transformation. The challenge is not to adapt the buildings to fit current trends in library and museum design, but rather more ambitiously, to discover how the preservation of these extraordinary buildings can provoke a profound rethinking of our current conventions about design. The aim is to envision a new type of library and museum that would be unimaginable without the existing structures.

The registration deadline is February 8, 2007, and the submission deadline is May 30, 2007.

Winning students, their faculty sponsors, and schools will receive cash prizes totalling $10,000. Winners and their faculty sponsors will be notified of the competition results directly, and a list of winning projects will be posted on the ACSA website at www.acsa-arch.org.

For more information, please contact:

Eric W. Ellis/AISC Competition
Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture
1735 New York Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20006
Tel: 202.785.2324 (Ext. 8, Competitions Hotline)
Fax: 202.628.0448