Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

2005 Pugly Awards launch

Sponsored by Tri Continental Capital and Cecconi Simone Inc., the Pugly Awards are an online competition created to recognize the best and worst residential and commercial developments of 2004 in the city of Toronto. According to organizers, the awards will give the people of Toronto an opportunity to express their views on the current state of architecture in the city; to shun the mediocre and celebrate the truly great.

Voting for the 2005 Pugly nominated buildings may be done online at The winners (and losers) will be announced in mid-April.

The Pugly Awards were founded by Gary Berman and Anna Simone, and its Advisory Board consists of Galen G. Weston, Geddy Lee, David Crombie, Jeanne Beker, Michael King, Allan Gotlieb, Myles Mindham, Richard Diamond, Charles Cutts, Lawrence Ayliffe, Shinan Govani, Salah Bachir, James Fleck and John MacFarlane.

For a complete explanation of the selection criteria and voting rules, please visit