2005 City of Edmonton Urban Design Awards program introduced

Councillor Michael Phair announced the 2005 City of Edmonton Urban Design Awards Program at the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) Festival’s Celebration of Excellence Awards event last week. The 2005 City of Edmonton Urban Design Awards Program will recognize individuals, organizations, firms and projects that have contributed to the quality of life in Edmonton through excellence in urban design and architecture.

As a member of the jury, Councillor Phair is joined by four others nationally respected in their fields:

*Bing Thom, Architect: Bing Thom Architects Inc., Vancouver, British Columbia
*Beverly Sandalack, Urban Designer/Landscape Architect: Sandalack + Associates Associate Professor, Urban Design and Planning, University of Calgary, President of Alberta Association of Landscape Architects, Calgary, Alberta
*Jeremy Sturgess, Architect: Sturgess Architecture Calgary, Alberta
*Greg Smallenberg, Landscape Architect: Philips Farevaag Smallenberg, Vancouver, British Columbia

The call for submissions begins in May with the submission closure date Wednesday, August 10th and the presentation of awards planned for the fall.

The winners will receive an Award of Excellence or a certificate of Honourable Mention in six categories:

1. Conceptual or Theoretical Urban Design Plans
2. Approved Urban Design Plans
3. Urban Architecture
4. Civic Design Projects
5. Urban Fragments
6. Community Improvement Projects

For more information, please visit www.edmonton.ca/urban2005 or contact Carol Blanger at 780.496.5689 or carol.belanger@edmonton.ca.

Projects receiving the City of Edmonton Urban Design Award of Excellence for 2005 will be eligible for the national RAIC Urban Design Awards to be adjudicated in 2006. Edmonton joins Vancouver, Calgary, Toronto and Ottawa, all of whom administer local urban design awards programs.