2004-2005 Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture Awards Program winners announced

Each year the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) honours architectural educators for exemplary work in areas such as building design, community collaborations, scholarship and service. The award-winning professors inspire and challenge students, contribute to the profession’s knowledge base, and extend their work beyond the borders of academe into practice and the public sector.

“This year’s submissions were very rich in content and presentation, and were thus very difficult to judge given their consistently high quality. We especially commend all those who submitted for the strength of their work and their commitment to the advancement of design and research through their explorations,” aid ACSA Awards Chairman Gregory Herman.

The 2004-2005 award winners are as follows:

ACSA Distinguished Professor:
Stephen Verderber, Tulane University

ACSA New Faculty Teaching:
Gail Peter Borden, North Carolina State University
Billie Faircloth, University of Texas at Austin
Mitchell Squire, Iowa State University

ACSA Creative Achievement:
Julio Bermudez & Jim Agutter, University of Utah

ACSA Collaborative Practice:
Michael Everts, Montana State University
Rice Building Workshop, 1997-2004, Danny Samuels, FAIA, Director, & Nonya Grenader, FAIA, Associate Director, Rice University
Marta Canavs, IIDA, Florida International University; Marilys R. Nepomechie, Florida International University; Michaele Pride-Wells, RA, AIA, University of Cincinnati; David Biagi, University of Kentucky; Bruce Swetnam, RA, University of Kentucky

ACSA Faculty Design and Faculty Research:
Gail Peter Borden, North Carolina State University
Jeremy Ficca, North Carolina State University
Marilys R. Nepomachie & Marta Canavs, IIDA, Florida International University
Mark West, University of Manitoba
Gretchen Wilkins, John Comazzi, Anselmo Canfora, University of Michigan

JAE Best Article:
Greg Castillo, University of Miami

JAE Best Design Article:
Ryo Yamada, Japan

A special session, including a visual presentation of the winners’ accomplishments will be showcased at a plenary session at the 2005 ACSA Annual Meeting in Chicago, Illinois from March 3-6, 2005.

The Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture is a non-profit, membership association founded in 1912 to advance the quality of architectural education. Members consist of all colleges and universities that offer accredited degree programs in architecture in the United States and Canada, candidate schools seeking accreditation, and affiliate membership for two-year and international programs and others ineligible for accreditation. Through these schools, over 4,700 architectural faculty are represented. In addition, over 500 supporting members composed of architecture firms and practitioners, product associations, individuals and students add to the breadth of the association’s constituencies and programs.

For more information, please visit www.acsa-arch.org or contact Andrea Leal at [email protected]