2003 Wood Design Awards.

Architects in both the U.S. and Canada garnered a total of 13 awards out of 217 submissions to the 2003 Wood Design Awards program. Two winners are also recipients of Canadian Architect Awards. Honours were given to Vincent James Associates of Minneapolis for the Minneapolis Rowing Club Boathouse and Saia Barbarese Topouzanov architectes for the Maison Goulet in Ste-Marguerite du Lac Masson, Quebec. Merit Awards were given to Will Bruder Architects for the Riddell Residence in Wilson, Wyoming; Brian MacKay-Lyons Architecture Urban Design for Messenger House II in Upper Kingsburg, Nova Scotia (see CA, Dec. 2002 p. 18); Bone/Levine Architects for Milanville House in Milanville, Pennsylvania; Salmela Architect for Emerson Sauna in Duluth, Minnesota, and to Marpillero Pollak Architects for Staten Island and Roy Wilkins Park in Queens, New York. Citation Awards went to Betsy Williams with Cornelius Alig for Onominese Retreat on Leelanau Peninsula, Michigan; Turnbull Griffin Haesloop for the Bunch Residence in Napa, California; Wendy Evans Joseph Architecture for the Home Observatory in Ghent, New York; Montgomery Sisam Architects for the Bird Studies Canada Headquarters in Port Rowan, Ontario (see CA, Dec. 2001, p. 26); Bauer and Wiley Architects for the Ocean Education Center at Dana Point, California and to Steven Lombardi Architect for Think Small in San Diego, California. Jurors this year were Peter Bohlin, FAIA, Raymond Moriyama, FRAIC, Hon. and Laura Hartman.