12th Tile of Spain Awards for Architecture and Interior Design

The Spanish Ceramic Tile Manufacturers’ Association (ASCER) is launching the 12th edition of this competition, and the jury comprises prominent national and international professionals as it does every year.

In this edition, the chairman will be the world renowned German architect Matthias Sauerbruch, founding partner of Sauerbruch Hutton, a firm with offices in both Berlin and London. Sauerbruch is among seven international architects bestowed with the AIA Honorary Fellowship 2013 from the American Institute of Architects (AIA). The jury will be formed by a select group of experts such as Portuguese architect João Luís Carrilho da Graça; Luca Molinari, curator and producer of exhibitions and cultural events related to contemporary architecture, design and photography; Spanish architect Manuel Gallego; designer Tomás Alonso, founding partner of the OKAY Studio design collective in London; and Ramón Monfort of the Architects’ Association of Valencia.

The submission deadline is October 29, 2013. A prize fund of 39,000 Euros is divided into three categories. The two main categories are Architecture and Interior Design, and each will be awarded 17,000 Euros. The primary requirement to participate is that ceramic tiles made in Spain must be used in each project. The third category is Degree Project category, which is geared to architecture students, and the winner will be awarded 5,000 Euros. The jury may also give two special mentions in each category.

For further information and to download the application form, please visit www.tileofspainawards.com or contact premios@ascer.es.