DAILY NEWS Jan 31, 2013 3:36 PM - 0 comments

Call for nominations for the 2014 Lee Kuan Yew World City Prize


The Lee Kuan Yew World City Prize is a biennial international award that honours outstanding achievements and contributions to the creation of liveable, vibrant and sustainable urban communities around the world. The prize seeks to recognize cities and their key leaders and organizations for displaying foresight, good governance and innovation in tackling the many urban challenges faced, to bring about social, economic and environmental benefits in a holistic way to their communities.

To facilitate the sharing of best practices in urban solutions that are easily replicable across cities, the prize will place an emphasis on practical and cost effective solutions and ideas, for the benefit of cities around the world. Through this prize, Singapore hopes to promote exemplary thought-leadership and exchange of ideas among cities, so as to spur further innovation in the area of sustainable urban development.

The Lee Kuan Yew World City Prize Laureate will be presented with an award certificate, a gold medallion and a cash prize of $300,000 (Singapore dollars), sponsored by the Keppel Corporation.

Nominations for the Lee Kuan Yew World City Prize can only be initiated by independent third parties who are leading academics, government officials and heads of international organizations in the fields of urban planning, housing, transport management, urban design and architecture, energy conservation, urban policy and management and any other relevant fields. Nominations for the Lee Kuan Yew World City Prize are also accepted from organizations in the public or private sector, as well as non-government organisations and academic Institutions.

In the nomination, the nominator may also identify the key leader(s) and/or partner-organizations which have contributed significantly to the urban transformation of the city. Self-nominations will not be accepted.

The closing date for Stage A nominations is March 29, 2013.

Previous winners include the city of New York (2012) and Bilbao City Hall (2010).

For more details, please visit www.leekuanyewworldcityprize.com.sg.

Horizontal ruler
Horizontal Ruler

Post A Comment

Note: By submitting your comments you acknowledge that Canadian Architect has the right to reproduce, broadcast and publicize those comments or any part thereof in any manner whatsoever. Please note that due to the volume of e-mails we receive, not all comments will be published and those that are published will not be edited. However, all will be carefully read, considered and appreciated.

Your Name (this will appear with your post) *

Email Address (will not be published) *

Comments *

* mandatory fields